Healthy living – starts now!

Good afternoon! I’m standing at the bus stop waiting to catch a bus home from the grocery store. My arms are filled with healthy food. Why, you may ask? Well. I got a bit of a wake up call this week. Let me start at the beginning.

For awhile now, I’ve been thinking about getting a personal trainer. I love working out with a trainer. I find they really inspire me and keep me motivated. Ive also noticed lately that sone of my clothes dont fit as well as they used to. So I went to the local gym and negotiated. I bought 7 sessions.

Last Tuesday was my assessment. You can probably predict where this is going. We chatted for awhile, talked about my fitness history (I run 2-3 times a week but I hate the gym; haven’t been in two years), food habits (I eat out 2-3 times per day; I want to cook but I live alone and haven’t figured out how to cook for one), and my goals (lose 10-15 pounds, tone my tummy, and strengthen my legs so running is easier). It was a pretty good conversation. He pointed out some obvious changes I would have to make (ahem maybe not eating out so much?) and gave me some suggestions, which really were a no brainer. Who woulda thought that you can put a whole pan of chicken in the oven on Sunday and then have chicken for the whole week? Apparently not me.

Then came the scale. They have this crazy scale that not only weighs you but determines your body fat index I think. Takes about 30 seconds. My numbers shocked me.

1. I weigh more than I ever have before. By 10 pounds.
2. My body fat index number is .5 away from obese.

The second one shocked me more than the first. I mean I knew I had gained wait. And I haven’t been eating well. But me? Obese? No way man. After that session I went through a range of emotions but the overall one was a feeling of shame. I have no one to blame but myself. I wallowed for a a few minutes. Felt like I was going to cry. But then I realized the cold hard truth. I did this. And now I have to fix it.

The assessment only lasted about half an hour so I jumped on the stair master. That thing is brutal. The whole time I was on it I was thinking how I was almost obese. My next stop was the grocery store to stock up on some healthy grub.

Anyways all of this was last week. I’ve been making some pretty good changes since then and I am going to try to document them here.

My friend suggested that I sign up for My Fitness Pal. Honestly, I’ve never been a huge fan of calorie counting. I’ve never stuck with it and I never really understood the purpose. Ok well other than the obvious, which is to eat the right amount. But silly me never thought it mattered. I’ve been doing it since last Wednesday and I have to admit, it’s really helping me. It’s not so much the number of calories that is helping me, but the awareness. It’s making me think about every single thing that I put in my mouth. Lunch time rolls around. Should I order that yam roll? NO! So that’s been good. I’m also realizing that on weekends I don’t eat enough. Weird right? I was about 400 calories short yesterday of my 1300ish goal. (I know, that’s bad) When I’m at home, on the weekend, I just don’t get as hungry as I am during the week at work.

I’ve also found a ton of healthy meals on Pinterest. The one that I made tonight was Quinoa Fried Rice. I had a bunch of leftover quinoa from dinner a few nights ago so I needed to use it up. I also made Quinoa cookies which were delish!

Quinoa Veggie “Fried Rice”:

Original Source: Damn Delicious

Yields 4-6 servings
20130428-200038.jpg
INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 head broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 2 carrots, peeled and grated
  • 3 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • Sriracha, for serving

DIRECTIONS:

Heat 1 tablespoon olive oil in a medium skillet over low heat. Add eggs and fry until cooked through, about 2-3 minutes per side, flipping only once. Let cool before dicing into small pieces.

Heat remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil in a large skillet or wok over medium high heat. Add garlic and onion, and cook, stirring often, until onions become translucent, about 4-5 minutes.

Add mushrooms, broccoli and zucchini. Cook, stirring constantly, until vegetables are tender, about 3-4 minutes.

Add corn, peas, carrots and quinoa. Cook, stirring constantly, until heated through, about 1-2 minutes.

Add ginger and soy sauce, and gently toss to combine. Cook, stirring constantly, until heated through, about 2 minutes.

Stir in green onions and eggs.

Serve immediately, drizzled with Sriracha, if desired.

Quinoa Cookies
Original Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

20130428-200047.jpg
Yield: 3 dozen cookies

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 12-14 minutes

Quinoa adds a nice little crunch to these thick and hearty cookies!

Ingredients:

2 cups Gold Medal whole-wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup applesauce (I used chunky Musselman’s applesauce)
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
1 cup raisins
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup cooked and cooled quinoa
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper or a Silpat and set aside.2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, and baking soda. Set aside. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and brown sugar until smooth, about 3 minutes. Add in the eggs and vanilla extract. Add the applesauce and mix until combined. Stir in the raisins.

3. Slowly add the dry ingredients into liquid ingredients and mix until combined. Stir in the oats, quinoa, and chocolate chips.

4. Spoon about a tablespoon of dough onto a large baking sheet. Bake cookies for 12-14 minutes, or until cookies are just barely set. Remove cookies from baking sheet and cool on a wire cooling rack.

So wish me luck 🙂 Tomorrow night I am going running with my friend and her husband, and my boyfriend. My boyfriend is a crazy runner and he’s going to give us some training. He runs like a gazelle. I do not. Should be interesting…

Leave a Reply

