Best Pinterest recipe. Ever.

One of my main goals this year is to cook more. So far so good. Day 3 and no takeout yet! Here is what I have made so far:

  1. January 1: lightly floured tilapia with brown rice and edamame.
  2. January 2: bourbon crack chicken in my slow cooker. Jam rolls for dessert.
  3. January 3: grilled cheeseburger wraps.

Jan 1 was pretty basic. But good.

20130103-193726.jpg

Jan 2. Pinterest fail times two. The bourbon chicken was just not what I expected. I guess I expected it to be like bourbon street grill. Not so much. It was fine but I call it a fail. Definitely not crack. I did not want seconds. In case you want to try it, here’s the link to the re pie Bourbon “crack” Chicken. The second fail of the day was the jam rolls. I think this was more of a bread maker fail to be honest. The dough setting didn’t work! Nothing mixed! So I did it by hand. Here’s the recipe link: Jam Rolls in the Breadmaker

And the result:

20130103-193714.jpg
Jan 3 was the best. I found an easy recipe and tried it. 10 min later amazing-ness. I pretty much made it as it says except I used less of everything and smaller wraps.

20130103-193704.jpg
Grilled Cheeseburger Wraps
from Skinny Mom’s Kitchen
source of original recipe….

1 lb ground beef
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce (I used a little more to taste)
1 tablespoon ketchup
1 teaspoon dried minced onion
pepper and salt to taste
5 flour tortillas (the larger ones)
shredded cheddar cheese
sliced tomatoes
yellow mustard

Brown ground beef in large skillet and drain. Add Worcestershire sauce, ketchup, dried onion, and salt and pepper to the beef and simmer for 5 minutes. Sprinkle shredded cheese down center of each tortilla. Add a few heaping tablespoons of the beef mixture on top of the cheese. Spread some mustard on top of the beef along with some slices of tomato. Roll up tortilla burrito-style and place wraps on preheated indoor grill.

Leave a Reply

