Cooking For One

I’m just going to come out and say it. Cooking for one sucks.  And there are a few reasons:

  1. Almost all recipes are for 4 servings.  Some of them say they are 4 servings, but they lie, and are actually 6-8 servings for real people. I suppose this might not be horrible if you REALLY like leftovers, but honestly, it’s just too much.
  2. Most recipes take longer than 15 minutes to make. Therefore, you are spending more time cooking than you are eating.
  3. It’s cheaper to buy in bulk. So, either I buy the more expensive smaller amounts or I have enough chicken to last me for the next year. If, of course, it does not get all freezer burnt and gross by then. And let’s not even talk about fresh produce.

As you can probably tell, I hate cooking for myself. I really enjoy cooking but after working all day, it’s simply easier to get take out. That being said,take out is probably way more expensive and definitely less healthy.  My goal right now is to find recipes that I can make for myself, that don’t have me spending hours and hours in the kitchen for a 10 minute meal, and are fairly healthy.  This is going to be interesting.  Right now, I am eating out at least 3-4 times per week. The other days are leftovers of some sort or soup.  I am searching Pinterest for crock pot meals and meals for one. Any ideas are welcome 🙂 I am going to try to share the ones I have found that I think are keepers. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

